American Watercolor Society, Inc. Masthead Link to Home page

Dolphin Program

Dolphin Medal

*Medal designed and sculpted by Mario Cooper

The Dolphin Fellowship

The Dolphin Fellowship has been established to encourage artists to create more award-winning paintings and for the advancement of the art of watercolor. The AWS had come of age, and we feel this fellowship will add new luster to the American Watercolor Society.

Unlike some fellowships where candidates have to be sponsored by other Fellows to achieve membership, membership in the Dolphin Fellowship is obtained by merit alone in accordance with the point system. The points required to be a Fellow are five and must be won by AWS members at one or more of our national annual exhibitions.

The Dolphin Medal

The Dolphin Medal will be awarded to a person, persons or even to organizations making outstanding contributions to art -- especially to watercolor and AWS. This is not an award for painting. The recipient of the Medal shall become an honorary Member of the Society.

In 2006 the Dolphin Medal Award went to Joe Miller for his outstanding efforts to promote the art of watercolor through his generous philanthropic works on behalf of all watermedia artists and their societies.

Dolphin Medalists
Robert Beverly Hale 1981
Joseph Veach Noble 1982
Mario Cooper 1983
Ogden Pleissner 1984
Millard Sheets 1986
Dong Kingman 1987
Alfredo Guati Rojo 1990
Chen Chi 1992
Andrew Wyeth 1994
Serge Hollerbach 1998
Dale Meyers 2000
Joe Miller 2006