American Watercolor Society, Inc. Masthead Link to Home page

First ONE Hundred Years Members

This list of Signature Members* from the first hundred years of AWS is based on information presented in "History of the American Watercolor Society, the First 100 Years" by Ralph Fabri. The book was written in celebration of the Society's 100th Anniversary in 1966.

We are aware that the list may contain some inaccuracies. Terminal dates of membership are largely dates of death which can easily be off by a year. They are recorded in the Annual Catalog, published to coincide with the Annual Exhibition each spring. If a member died after publication, it would be recorded in the following year's catalog. To avoid further delay, we concurred that users in search of specific artists who discover an error will surely contact us, and we encourage you to do so. This reference material is a work in progress, and it is our goal to eventually have it current. It can never be complete as it is as alive as the Society itself. We hope to initiate other research sources; unfortunately, they will not be able to reach so far into our history.

We extend our thanks and appreciation to all who gave countless hours to this project.

Janet Walsh, President Emeritus

*Signature Members were referred to as "Active" until recently. Today, membership categories are Signature Member, one who has earned membership through competition in the Annual Exhibitions, and Sustaining Associate Member, a membership open to any and all who wish to be supportive of the Society and the art of watercolor painting. The Society holds each in high regard and actively pursues growth and development in both categories.

Click on a letter below to access the alphabetical Hundred Years members list:

a | b | c | d | e | f | g | h | i | j | k | l | m | n | o | p | q | r | s | t | u | v-z
First Middle Last Honors From Until
Irving Nachtigal 1963 2003
Edith E. Nagler 1942 2004
Leif Neandross 1941 2004
Charles Austin Needham 1908 1925
Antonia (Tony) Nell 1942 1961
William Henry de Beauvoir Nelson 1919 1920
George Laurence Nelson L.M. 1918 1978
Donald Nester 1954 1954
G. Glenn Newell N.A. 1908 1947
Hugh Newell 1880 1916
Henry Roderick Newman 1867 1873
Joseph L. Newman 1941 1976
Tom Nicholas D.F. 1959 Current
Rhoda Holmes Nicholls 1921 1930
Hobart Nichols P.N.A., H. 1925 1962
Spencer Baird Nichols N.A. 1922 1950
James C. Nicoll N.A. P.A.W 1867 1918
Edmund E. Niemann 1964 1987
Robert Nisbet N.A., L.M. 1942 1961
E. Parker Nordell 1942 1958
August Henry Nordhausen 1953 1993
Margaret F. Norris 1942 1957
Gergard Nukker na 2003
Irving Nurick 1959 1963
Legend of Honors for First One Hundred Years Members Listing
Dolphin Fellow D.F.
Dolphin Medalist D.M.
Honorary Member H.M.
Honorary President H.P.
Honorary Vice President H.V.P.
Life Member L.M.
President, AWS P.A.W.S.
President Emeritus P.E.
Associate Nat'l Academician A.N.A.
National Academician N.A.
President National Academy P.N.A.

Return to top of page

a | b | c | d | e | f | g | h | i | j | k | l | m | n | o | p | q | r | s | t | u | v-z